The Queues section gives you an overview of your Queues set up in Captivated. A Queue is simply a shared inbox where new incoming messages route. You can have multiple channels routing to a single queue.
When a new message routes to the queue, it is unassigned until one of your designated operators takes it from the queue. When a user takes a message from a Queue, that user becomes the Owner of the conversation.
The buttons to the right of each queue will allow you to view or edit the queue information. Clicking on Edit Queue, you’ll be directed to the Edit screen where you can modify and update the Queue’s settings. If you would like to view your Queue’s details prior to editing, you can click on View Details.
Queue Status, Hours and Auto-Replies
To view the status of your queue, Open, Auto or Closed, head to the General tab. The default status of the queue, will be “Auto”. This means that the queue is open during the specified hours of operation. Incoming messages after hours will receive the auto-response.
For the auto status to work properly, be sure to add the hours you will have operators available and ready to take inbound messages in the queue.
Toggling the status to “Open” will mean that the queue is open 24/7 and that operators will be available to answer any inbound messages in a timely manner.
Closing your queue, is helpful for holidays where the entire office will be closed and no one will be responding to incoming messages from clients. If you close the queue, make sure that your auto-reply reflects an appropriate message to your customers on when your team will be available to respond.
To remove a user as an operator of the queue, just hit the trash icon. Doing this does not delete the user, just removes them as an operator of the queue.
To add additional users as operators, hit the “Add Another Operator” button.
Sharing the Queue
The sharing tab allows you to specify the teams and individual users who can transfer to this queue.
This is helpful for organizations that have multiple departments such as Sales, Service, etc. If a messages comes into the main queue but pertains to a specific department, the user could transfer the message from the main queue to the Sales Queue so that the operators of that queue can handle the message.
In the top right hand corner, the Delete button will remove the Queue altogether and the Edit button will allow you to modify or update the name, the auto-reply, and the hours of operation of the Queue. If you make any changes to the Queue, be sure to scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Save. If your list of Queues is rather long, you can search for a specific Queue using this search field. Typing the first three letters will initiate a search of the list and pull results.
You can also view all your queues on one page and review all the details. Most importantly, you can see any conversations currently sitting in the queue and how many operators are watching for incoming messages.
Finally, you can also review which channels route to each queue.